There were signs of spring in the garden around the church.
The area to the north of the Chapel, Spa Fields, was open countryside in 1790s, and still in 1801. Merlin’s Cave, at the top of the hill, was a pub. The land is this area was privately owned and when leases expired … Continued
The Hertford Union Canal was built in 1830 as a short cut from the Regent’s Canal to the Lea Navigation. It was also known as Duckett’s Cut, after Sir George Duckett, but it was not commercially successful and Sir George sold … Continued