A walk around Hanvec

Hanvec lies on a main road between Sizun and Le Faou and we had often driven through the village, but this time we lingered, parking in the square behind the Church in order to walk a circuit around the village.

An old house in Hanvec, with pigeon holes

An old house in Hanvec, with pigeon holes

Cows outside Hanvec

We passed fields of mealies, grass meadows, and fields with mushrooms popping up everywhere, coming out at Kergadec on the edge of forests.

Around Hanvec

Walking around Hanvec Walking around Hanvec

Walking around Hanvec

Walking around Hanvec

The path took us past Botcabeur with distant views of Hanvec and along the way a sign reminded us we were walking the Circuit du Plateau. We popped out on the main road at the Croix de Boudouguen of the 16C.

The Church at Hanvec

The Croix de Boudouguen (Croas-ar-Huré) of 1622 looks as though the two figures on either side of Christ are missing and here there is a reference to a figure commissioned from the workshop of Roland Doré

The Croas-ar-Hure

The Croas-ar-Hure

Once over the main road we walked along lanes again and into the countryside on a really beautiful section of this walk.

Circuit du Plateau around Hanvec

Walk around Hanvec

Circuit du Plateau around Hanvec Circuit du Plateau around Hanvec Circuit du Plateau around Hanvec

Just outside the town is an old Lavoir alongside the Fountain of St Madeleine. Perhaps this is where the missing statues from the Croas-ar-Huré are placed?

Lavoir and Fountain of St Madeleine outside Hanvec

Lavoir and Fountain of St Madeleine just outside Hanvec

And then we were back in the village. In the Middle Ages the village was controlled by the Viscounts of Faou, who were followed by the Kerliver family between14C-18C. The Church belonged to the Abbey at Daoulas. The Church of St Pierre was rebuilt in the 19C and only the South Porch of 1625 belongs to the original 17C building. The Ossuary of 1653, also known as the Chapel of St John, belonged to the original church.

The Church of St Pierre, Hanvec

The Church of St Pierre, Hanvec

The Ossuary & South Porch of the Church of St Pierre, Hanvec

The Ossuary & South Porch of the Church of St Pierre, Hanvec

St Pierre in the South Porch

St Pierre in the South Porch

The Ossuary of the Church of St Pierre, Hanvec

The Ossuary of the Church of St Pierre, Hanvec

Urbain de Quelen is remembered on the Ossuary; his family owned the Manor of Kerliven and he was a ‘Pontifical Zouave’. I had never this term, but apparently this was a military force which defended the sovereignty of the Papal States against the reunification of Italy.

A most enjoyable walk in changing scenery – marvellous!