The Milner-Gibson Estate in Islington was developed from 1823 on land leased from William Tufnell, a major landowner in the area. Thomas Milner-Gibson (1806-88) was head of the family at this time. (Portraits from Hardwick House.)
Theberton Street was first laid out and these ‘pillar houses’ are at each end of the street.
The east and west sides of Gibson Square are uniform, with a ‘temple’ front at the ends.
The gardens were quiet and peaceful and at one end the rather odd Greek ‘temple’ is a ventilator shaft for the Victoria line, designed by Raymond Erith and built 1968-69.