Bradshaw’s Hand Book to London, Percy Circus (no.60)

Percy Circus is named after Robert Percy Smith, the brother of a Director of the New River Company and this was the last development on land belonging to the Company, begun in 1841 and completed in 1853. The northern end of Percy Circus was damaged by bombing in WWII; Holford Square was destroyed

Percy Square, 1874, British History Online

Percy Square, 1874, British History Online

This square is unusual because it is a circus, and unusual arrangement in the development of the London squares and it is lucky that fifteen of the original twenty-seven houses around the enclosed garden remain. The houses were large – ten rooms – but the developers found tenants quite readily. The other unusual characteristic of this square is the extremely steep slope on which it is built.

The lower section of Great Percy Street in 1906, looking up towards the Circus; British History Online

The lower section of Great Percy Street in 1906, looking up towards the Circus; British History Online

Percy Circus, 1937

Percy Circus, 1937

Percy Circus

Percy Circus 2014

You may be interested in
Percy Circus – history

Enhanced by Zemanta