The Church of St Herbot

The Church of St Herbot is in a small settlement of the same name, near Plounévez-du-Faou. The Church started building in the 14C on the site where St Herbot was buried and was the second church on the site.

The unusually square Bell Tower dates from the beginning of the 16C, probably built with patronage from the Duchess Anne. The West Door, with a statue of St Herbot accompanied by angels dates from 1516, but the interestingly curved stair on the North side was added much later, in 1858.

The Church of St Herbot

The Church of St Herbot

The West Door (1516) with a statue of St Herbot

The West Door (1516) with a statue of St Herbot

The much later (1858) curved north stairway

The much later (1858) curved north stairway

The South Porch (1498-1509) was built by the workshop at Folgoët which received much Ducal and Royal patronage, and which specialised in carvings to adorn porches. This Porch was during the ‘second’ workshop, in the final years of the atelier. The Apostles (a full set inside the Porch) date from 1498. The Ossuary (1558) is attached to the South Porch, similar to that at La Martyre.

The South Porch of St Herbot

The South Porch of St Herbot

Carvings on the South Porch, St Herbot

Carvings on the South Porch, St Herbot

The ceiling in the South Porch, with a figure of St Herbot over the door

The ceiling in the South Porch, with a figure of St Herbot over the door

The Apostles in the South Porch of St Herbot

The Apostles in the South Porch of St Herbot

The Apostles in the South Porch of St Herbot

The Apostles in the South Porch of St Herbot

The Ossuary, St Herbot

The Ossuary, St Herbot

The Calvary is from 1575 and is carved from Kersanton stone.

Inside the Church there is a tremendous sense of age. The High Altar is enclosed with a carved Rood Screen, above which is the Glory Beam.

Inside the Church of St Herbot

Inside the Church of St Herbot

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

15C Pieta, the Church of St Herbot

15C Pieta, the Church of St Herbot

The stained glass of 1556 is highly detailed, and very beautiful. This site, always excellent, shows and discusses the glass in detail.

The stained glass of 1556 St Herbot

The stained glass of 1556 St Herbot

St Herbot is the protector of cattle and on the Pardon people lay cows tails, butter and milk in the church to invoke his help. The Fête du Beurre still takes place every year on the fourth Sunday in September in St Herbot, and stupidly we missed it.

Statue of St Herbot inside the Church

Offering to St Herbot

Offering to St Herbot

15C? Tomb of St Herbot

15C? Effigy of St Herbot

There are many more details in this interesting church – I need to return!

Further information
The Folgoët Workshops