We had enjoyed a wonderful week in the Landevant area and now were moving to Sizun. Journeys between places are always opportunities to explore so we stopped in Kernascleden, and then moved on to Le Faouët where we wanted to visit the Chapels of Saint Fiacre and Ste Barbe and see the covered market.
The Chapel of Saint Fiacre was closed when we arrived at 12.05 – the dreaded two-hour lunchbreak. And when we tried to return for the 2.00pm opening the town had been closed off for a cycle race and there was absolutely no access to the church – something we discovered after driving around for half an hour, looking for a ‘back road’!
So we moved on to see the Chapel of Ste Barbe, which started construction in 1489, which is on one of the many Pilgrim Routes to Santiago de Compostela. The Chapel was of course closed for the lunchbreak… The site is fascinating, with chapel built into a steep hillside and wide views over the surrounding countryside.
We returned to Le Faouët and revived ourselves at the cafe next to the Market Hall and then escaped the quickly developing cordon round the town to accommodate a bicycle race in the nick of time, setting off to find the final church of the day. The Market Hall was built in 1542 and belonged to the local Lord. There were at least monthly fairs in the 17C and even today it is used for its original purpose. It was a hot day when we visited, but wonderfully cool under the huge roof.
Next stop – the Parish Enclosure of Cleden-Poher.