A circular walk around Le Quillio

Le Quillio has been a settlement since the 13C and today appears to be a neat and quiet little town. We parked near the 15C-18C Church and set off (armed with umbrellas) on a circular walk up into the hills and back along the Rigole d’Hilvern.

The Church of Notre Dame in Le Quillio

The Church of Notre Dame in Le Quillio

Setting out from Le Quillio

Setting out from Le Quillio

The Calvary of La Croix Rouge just outside Le Quillio

The Calvary of La Croix Rouge just outside Le Quillio

Looking back at Le Quillio from the opposite hillside

Looking back at Le Quillio from the opposite hillside

A puppy leaped out of a farmyard and started following us. We tried to persuade it to go home but to no avail. These goats popped out and were clearly puzzled by the goings on! Eventually we had to ask someone to lock up the dog while we finished the walk and then returned to deal with the problem. The very kind and helpful Frenchman had already contacted the owners and promised to return the dog to its owners for us.

Puzzled goats on the Le Quillio walk

The Rigole d’Hilvern was built between 1831-38 to convey water from the dam at Bosméleac to the Nantes-Brest Canal, particularly in the summer, and is 65kms in length. Trees were planted alongside the channel and it is a beautiful path on which to walk.

The Rigole d'Hilvern at Le Quillio

The Rigole d'Hilvern at Le QuillioThe Rigole d'Hilvern at Le Quillio Eventually you turn away from the channel and up the hill back into Le Quillio.

The road into Le Quillio from the Rigole d'Hilvern

This is a very good walk and we enjoyed it despite the occasional rain shower. Afterwards we explored the Church and the Chapels of Notre Dame de Lorette and St Leon – more to come in future posts!