The Château of Azay-le-Rideau was built between 1528 and 1527 on the site of the mediaeval castle of Ridel d’Azay, a knight in the King’s service. The fortress was built to protect the road from Tours to Chinon. This original building was burned down in 1418 during the Hundred Years’ War. It was Gilles Berthelot, Treasurer-General to the King, who acquired the site in 1518 and began building the current Château. The property changed hands over the years until 1905 when it was acquired by the State and is now a National Monument.
The Château is on an island in the Indre River, which was diverted to create a moat around the building.
Inside the Chateau it was cool, and there are many beautiful details. The most striking feature is the Grand Central Staircase, the Escalier d’Honneur.
The construction of the roof is amazing.