Le Quillio has been a settlement since the 13C and today appears to be a neat and quiet little town. We parked near the 15C-18C Church and set off (armed with umbrellas) on a circular walk up into the hills and back along the Rigole d’Hilvern.
A puppy leaped out of a farmyard and started following us. We tried to persuade it to go home but to no avail. These goats popped out and were clearly puzzled by the goings on! Eventually we had to ask someone to lock up the dog while we finished the walk and then returned to deal with the problem. The very kind and helpful Frenchman had already contacted the owners and promised to return the dog to its owners for us.
The Rigole d’Hilvern was built between 1831-38 to convey water from the dam at Bosméleac to the Nantes-Brest Canal, particularly in the summer, and is 65kms in length. Trees were planted alongside the channel and it is a beautiful path on which to walk.
Eventually you turn away from the channel and up the hill back into Le Quillio.
This is a very good walk and we enjoyed it despite the occasional rain shower. Afterwards we explored the Church and the Chapels of Notre Dame de Lorette and St Leon – more to come in future posts!