‘The original name of the village was Saint Hippolyte de la Rochefourcade, and was located about 3 km SW of the current site, just southwest of the small hill called Puech de Mar. A few ruins of the ancient village and chateau ruins can still be seen there.
When the village moved to its current location beside the river, it was named Saint Hippolyte de la Planquette. A fort was built here in 1687-1689, and the village renamed Saint Hippolyte-du-Fort.’
The mediaeval town would surely have been similar to Ganges, with narrow streets and vaulted passageways, Traverses voutés? If you search these features can still be found.
The Fort was built after the revocation of the Treaty of Nantes (1685) and intended as a fort and a prison in the fight against the Camisards. The builder was Francois Ferry and it was modeled on the forts of Vauban. The building is not open to the public and appears to be a factory or warehouse of some kind.
The ‘Casern building is [another] reminder of the area’s military past. It was built in 1725 to house the troups of Louis XV. In 1860 it became a garrison for the troops of Napoleon III. A military academy was founded here in 1886, and remained active until 1934.’
St Hippolyte du Fort is bounded by two rivers, the Argentesse and the Vidourle.
On celebration days the town springs to life!